Friday, 20 April 2018
Latest news
Main » The Root Goes to the BET Awards and Tries to Look Cool

The Root Goes to the BET Awards and Tries to Look Cool

26 June 2017

In April 2017, BET International launched The New Edition Story, a three-part miniseries that was also BET's first scripted music-focused program. If seeing the "Saturday Night Live" and "Ghostbusters" actress onstage doesn't entice you, maybe the list of expected A-listers will. Mary J. Blige, French Montana, Chris Brown, Lil Wayne, Bruno Mars, DJ Khaled, Big Sean and others are set to perform during the ceremony. The 24K Magic singer will open the award show with a performance. "I will not be announcing any of the winners, so let's hope I will not be in a situation" like Faye Dunaway and Warren Beatty's La La Land/Moonlight mix-up", she said during the conference call.

Awards season is a wonderful time of the year.

Beyoncé goes into the competition with a leading seven nominations. Bruno Mars follows with five nominations. Also, "Amazulu" hitmaker Amanda Black and Tanzanian performer Ray Vanny are nominated for Viewer's Choice Award "Best International Act", in conjunction with performers from the UK, South Korea, Canada, Australia and Jamaica.

Online viewers can log in to the BET Awards Twitter page for a special backstage live stream at 8:30 pm ET along with updates of the night's big winners.

Justices say law on offensive trademarks is unconstitutional
Justice Neil Gorsuch joined the court after arguments were heard in the case and did not participate in Monday's decision. Alito also said trademarks are not immune from First Amendment protection as part of a government program or subsidy.

Presenters include Jamie Foxx, Queen Latifah, Trevor Noah, Jada Pinkett Smith, Issa Rae and Yara Shahidi.

The main event will be held at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, United States of America, and will be hosted by comedian Leslie Jones.

The group is set to be honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award and BET is sure to have something in store to delight fans.