Friday, 23 February 2018
Latest news
Main » Confirmed: Ireland Placed In Second Tier For UEFA Nations League

Confirmed: Ireland Placed In Second Tier For UEFA Nations League

12 October 2017

Division B: Austria, Wales, Russia, Slovakia, Ukraine, Ireland, Sweden, Northern Ireland, Denmark, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Czech Republic and Turkey.

UEFA claim the main advantage of the new system is that it creates "more meaningful and competitive matches for teams" than the current trend of filling worldwide dates with friendlies.

So how does it work?

"How teams perform in the Nations League will be used to determine which pots they will be placed in for future European qualifiers for the Euros and the World Cup", the Sun said.

For the UEFA Nations League Finals, the group winners of UEFA Nations League A will play in a knockout format (semi-finals, third-place match and final) in June 2019 to become the UEFA Nations League winners.

It will also provide Ireland with a second chance to qualify for Euro 2020, if needed, with the four highest-ranked non-qualifying League B teams entering play-offs for one finals place in March 2020.

The group stage draw will take place on 24 January 2018 in Lausanne, Switzerland.

Couple Describe Witnessing Las Vegas Shooting
Hillary Clinton tweeted Monday that the crowd in Las Vegas "fled at the sound of gunshots". Giffords finished, "The nation is counting on you".

League A: Germany, Portugal, Belgium, Spain, France, England, Switzerland, Italy, Poland, Iceland, Croatia, Holland.

If there are not four teams in any league to make up a play-off group - for instance all 12 teams in the top division would expect to qualify automatically - then the next ranked teams from lower tiers would move up.

The Republic of Ireland have been drawn in League B alongside Northern Ireland and Wales.

Four group winners from division "A" in June 2019 will determine the victor of the first draw of the League of Nations.

League C: Hungary, Romania, Scotland, Slovenia, Greece, Serbia, Albania, Norway, Montenegro, Israel, Bulgaria, Finland, Cyprus, Estonia, Lithuania.

The national teams of Ukraine and Russian Federation will be divided into different groups. The winners of each group will be promoted to league above and the losers will be relegated.

League D: Azerbaijan, Macedonia, Belarus, Georgia, Armenia, Latvia, Faroe Islands, Luxembourg, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Liechtenstein, Malta, Andorra, Kosovo, San Marino, Gibraltar. It concludes with the Final Four tournament in the summer of 2019. The four group winners will be promoted to League C for the 2020 edition.

Confirmed: Ireland Placed In Second Tier For UEFA Nations League